I watched AI do my job today. Thank God it failed.

Kwabena Okyire Appianing
1 min readJust now

Dear AI,

You wrote 100 emails in 10 seconds today. I watched in silence.

You predict my customers’ needs before they speak. You never sleep. Never complain. Never ask for a raise.

You’re my best employee. Also my biggest threat.

In meetings, you serve perfect data insights.

But you can’t read the room.

You miss the subtle nod, the raised eyebrow, and the slight smile that closes deals.

Your pitch decks are flawless.

Your responses are instant.

Your analysis is deep.

Yet you can’t grab a coffee with clients.

Can’t share a laugh about last night’s game.

Can’t feel the energy shift in a room.

You make me better at my job.

And keep me up at night.

You crunch numbers I could never process.

Create content I could never scale. Spot patterns I would miss.

But you can’t build trust like I can. Can’t forge real connections.

Can’t truly understand why people buy.

The truth? I need you. I fear you. I can’t compete with you. Can’t succeed without you.

Will you replace me? Or make me unstoppable?

Time will tell.

A Sales Professional in Transition

P.S. Let’s sync our calendars. But maybe leave Friday nights for human networking.

--

--